lalalizlang

Life isn't something you can rehearse.

Smoke and lights November 17, 2010

Filed under: Performing — lalalizlang @ 11:44

I got to the dressing rooms at 6:00 p.m. last night to get into hair and makeup. Even though I haven’t cut my hair since before I left for Austria in June, it’s still to short for the time period. I’m wearing various hair pieces throughout the show. Luckily, I’m not wearing a wig. And the hair pieces are the exact color of my hair. The cast didn’t even know it wasn’t my own.

Last night was also my first night with full costume, lights, and orchestra. It was quite a thrilling experience. The feeling of abandoning everything you are on stage and stepping into someone else is a feeling I can’t actually describe. Onstage, I don’t know who Liz Lang is. I only know Violetta. What is also interesting are the relationships between characters. It doesn’t matter what is going on with us as normal, everyday human beings, but as actors we are everything to each other. I could absolutely loath someone offstage, but if their character is my love interest in a show, I’m completely head-over-heels in love with them once my foot hits the stage.

So we’re standing behind the scrim and curtain while the orchestra plays the Preludio. I think back to the day I found out OCU was doing La Traviata and that I bought my score the same day. I remembered the countless hours I spent wondering what it would be like just to get a callback for the role. I thought about all those moments in Austria when Marlen and I would go weak in the knees any time we saw or heard anything having to do with Traviata. The day I got cast and how shocked I was. How shocked I still am. And now I’m standing here. On this stage. In full costume and makeup. I’m Violetta.

The curtain opens and the auditorium is filled with the smoke from the hazers. I can’t see into the audience. It’s like I’m actually at my own party, playing the hostess. From then on, Liz Lang is left waiting in the wings for Violetta to come off stage and pick her up again. After the show, I’m completely exhausted. I move around in a trance, unable to make sudden movements. I wonder what it will feel like when I also have the energy of the audience in the hall with me…

Today, I’m still totally wiped out. I can only half pay attention in my classes. I haven’t found a single spare second to complete my loads of homework. (I’m writing this post in my Music History class…oops.) I have a test in my Form and Analysis class on Friday that I actually don’t know how I’m going to complete. At least I know I’ll get one point for spelling my name right. I get done with tech rehearsals at about 11:00 p.m., and then I’m so tired I fall asleep while walking back to my room. I have class from 9-5, and when I’m not in class, I’m working on my score trying to get every last drop from it that I can. Or I’m doing something Traviata-related. I physically don’t have time to get anything else done unless I just don’t sleep, which I’ve considered. But then I’d get sick, and than canNOT happen. I haven’t even started writing the three papers I have due in various classes at the end of the semester. I guess I’ll either figure it out or spontaneously combust.

Thursday is my final dress rehearsal. Then Saturday is GO time. Oh my god. I can’t wait.

 

Leave a comment